nigerians dominate

To day it has been make known by dr. Promise Ogochukwu that a total of 163 entries have been received for the 5th edition of the Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature in Africa. By far the majority from from Nigeria itself. 

It was in 2005 that the prize was first awarded and it is intended to be a kind of Nobel Prize. That sounds a bit too much. All and sundry sending in their work for a Nobel Prize.  

But  do not underestimate African writing. You do it at your own peril. 

So find out who have been shortlisted



Published by


I enjoy reading about Africa. New books. Old books. By African writers. By non-African writers. Novel. History. Travel. Biographies. Autobiographies. Politics. Colonialism. Poetry.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.