nigerian writers in triple victory

In two days time Wole Soyinka will turn 80. In days ahead a lot of attention is already paid to this epic writer.

One of the important things he has done is giving his name to the ‘Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature in Africa’. The ceremony for 2014 did not take place in Ghana, but in Lagos, Nigeria. This change of venue must be due to the upcoming birthday.

Since the prize has been instituted in 2005 the winner came from South Africa and Nigeria. Does this mean that there is a light version of a literary desert in all the other countries?  I cannot believe that.

So what happened this time? A Nigerian winner! 

This time Akin Bello, who has written novels and poetry, was victorious. He wrote the play ‘Egbon of Lagos’.

So, please, read more about the prize-giving here and here


Published by


I enjoy reading about Africa. New books. Old books. By African writers. By non-African writers. Novel. History. Travel. Biographies. Autobiographies. Politics. Colonialism. Poetry.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.