the man booker international prize 2015

The Man Booker International Prize 2015 has made known the list of nominees for the 2015 prize. The prize was awarded for the first time in 2005. The award is given for the oeuvre of a writer who writes in English or whose works have been translated into English. 

The winner gets a trophy and £60.000. Next to that the winner may appoint a translator of his or her work, this translator gets £15.000.

In 2007 the Nigerian writer Chinua Achebe was awarded the Prize. This year there are four writers from Africa on the list with ten authors: Mia Couto from Mozambique, Alain Mabanckou from the Republic of Congo, Ibrahim al-Koni from Libya and Marlene van Niekerk from South Africa. 

Just yesterday I posted my reading of Marlene van Niekerk’s AGAAT.

Published by


I enjoy reading about Africa. New books. Old books. By African writers. By non-African writers. Novel. History. Travel. Biographies. Autobiographies. Politics. Colonialism. Poetry.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.