who wins epl 2015?

Tension is building up. The names on the longlist have been announced for the Etisalat Prize for Literature (EPL). This longlist was closely followed by the shortlist. Since this prize, originating in Nigeria, was first given no Nigerian has won the prize. Will there be a Nigerian winner this time?   

south africans dominate etisalat

A writer is a communicator. So it is apt that a telecommunications firm, Etisalat, will have a literary prize. The firm has just announced the longlist for the longlist for the 2015 Etisalat Prize for Literature. Nine books are on the longlist. Six are form South Africa and just two from Nigeria. Find out here who … Continue reading south africans dominate etisalat

read an excerpt from the winner of the uj debut prize

Who does not want to be a winner right from the start? Penny Busetto won an important literary prize for her debut. It was the Debut Prize awarded by the University of Johannesburg, South Africa. Here you can find an excerpt of this debut.  

winners in new found freedom

Here you will find some more information on the two winners of the 2014 University of Johannesburg writing in English. One winner is an established writer, Zakes Mda, the other, Penny Busetto, is awarded for her debut. One similarity of the two awarded books is the setting outside South Africa, even outside the continent. 

zakes mda and penny busetto

Here is news from another specialist literary prize. * it is from South Africa. * it is awarded by the University of Johannesburg. * it is about South African writing. * it is about writing in English. * it is about the years 2014/2015.  * it is about a main prize. * it is about … Continue reading zakes mda and penny busetto

the shortlist for the 2014/2015

Maybe it is a secret dream of mine to be, one day, shortlisted.  What a happy state I would be in, just to hear my name shortlisted. But I just sit here staring at the screen and see names pass by on another shortlist. This time the list has been made up by the University … Continue reading the shortlist for the 2014/2015